Well then

Well then

And in typical LSV fashion...

I hope LSV is recording this so we can see his reaction.

Same here. This made me laugh harder than the Very Cryptic Command changes.

A hell of a lot more than 3.


A hell of a lot more than 3.

The card [[Very Cryptic Command]] from Unstable has three versions (that we know of. Each is still Choose 2 from 4 options, but the options are different.

"Taste it."

LSV won. He posted another picture on his twitter: https://twitter.com/lsv/status/937814861857411073

LSV posted it on twitter.

It cannot.

Lol, this is Priceless

So, if lsvsucks sucks worse than lsv, shouldn't he be lsvsuckssucks?

Wait can a card target itself? because that one very cryptic command has an endless loop in it.

My Arena login will be lsvsuckscheonrocks

What's this you're referring to?

It wasn't that funny.

120.4. A player who attempts to draw a card from a library with no cards in it loses the game the next time a player would receive priority. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704.)

I would just mill them out...don't draw from an empty library...

But we already know he's drinking, which might increase his perceived funniness

If you somehow had 2 of that same cryptic command and cast both...

That is awkward.

The screenshot is taken by LSV(you can tell by color of the text in box)

OP is probably neither

"many", not "all". Just because this is an Un-card doesn't mean that they're considering this for black-bordered cards.

Hahaha damn, how did the game go?

it wins the game because you mill your opponent and draw from their empty deck

114.4. A spell or ability on the stack is an illegal target for itself.

For more logic on why this is true:

601.2. To cast a spell is to take it from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. Casting a spell includes proposal of the spell (rules 601.2a–d)

601.2a To propose the casting of a spell, a player first moves that card (or that copy of a card) from where it is to the stack. It becomes the topmost object on the stack. It has all the characteristics of the card (or the copy of a card) associated with it, and that player becomes its controller. The spell remains on the stack until it’s countered, it resolves, or an effect moves it elsewhere.

601.2b If the spell is modal, the player announces the mode choice (see rule 700.2).. (...)

601.2c The player announces his or her choice of an appropriate player, object, or zone for each target the spell requires

So basically, although it is true that when you cast a spell it does immediately get placed on the stack, the entire chain of proposal conditions need to be true in order for it to ever actually be there, meaning that it needs a valid target to be proposed, but does not yet have one.


Paul Cheon's Smurf account?


I am not sure how I feel about this from a “many in-cards are tests for black border land” perspective.

On one hand, it’s an interesting additional restriction. It opens up interesting design space for sure.

On the other, no longer being able to have an opponent say the card name and and instantly know what it does is scary. Every time this card is cast, you have to ask to read that specific copy.

It’s a mechanic unlikely to cross over, but it’s an interesting one to think of if it did.

Genius. Absolute genius.

Any idea where I can see the variants?

You’d have gotten more of an edge by being good at the game.

Even a sensible chuckle, poorly timed, can be catastrophic.