Baker Mayfield wins the 2017 Davey O'Brien Award!

Baker Mayfield wins the 2017 Davey O'Brien Award!

[Source] Oklahoma senior Baker Mayfield has been named the 2017 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner, becoming the third Sooner player ever to claim the nation’s oldest and most prestigious quarterback trophy.

Mayfield joins Jason White (2003-04) and Sam Bradford (2008) as winners from Oklahoma. The Austin, Texas, product is the first recipient from the Big 12 Conference since Baylor’s Robert Griffin III in 2011. He is the eighth quarterback winner to star as a prep in O’Brien’s home state of Texas, joining Michael Bishop, Ty Detmer, Griffin, Johnny Manziel, Colt McCoy, Andre Ware and Vince Young.

LMAO the actual Dave O Brien account tweeted that graphic good lord

Just give him all the trophies

It seems weird to give home the Ray Guy Award but alright...

He's gonna win literally everything. I feel like I'm watching a movie.

It’s called the Marshawn Lynch award btw

Fun fact: Sam Darnold was asked if we wanted to win the award but he would have to do an interview and photo shoot so he declined.

The best punt is a 69 yard TD pass.

We'll give him the crotch-grab trophy, too...

Presented by my mans Brad Banks!

Tweet(s) from post body brought to you by your Friendly Official /sub/cfb Twitter Bot:

College football’s leader in passing efficiency has won the Davey O’Brien Award. #BoomerSooner

- Crimson & Cream Machine (@CCMachine) 7:07 pm ET, December 7, 2017

Glad to see Mason was a finalist tho.